About Me:

My name is Derrick and I am 24 years old. I was born in Washington, D.C. on January 3,1986. I am the oldest of 4 brothers. My life has been up and down for several years. I was always a good student with the wrong crowd. I was arrested in 2005 on a strongarm robbery charge. I was over D.C. Jail for 6 months until I caught a break and was sentenced to the Youth Act Program in 2006. I obtained a job working at Safeway for about 9 months before quitting. My life again took a bad turn when I was sentenced by the probation office to attend a sanction program for 2 months. I’ve had some bad breaks like my father dying when I was 15 years. He wasn’t always tried to be there. Now, things are looking better for me starting with obtaining my GED from YouthBuild soon and I want to attend college when I’m finished with this opportunity.

One Response to “Derrick”

  1. Cara said

    Hey D,

    I think that you have done a good job turning some things around. If you were to give advice to a younger version of yourself, what would you suggest? What would have helped you stay on the right track? What do you want to do in college?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: